Nova Southeastern University Office of Academic Affairs Search NSU Site Map Nova Southeastern University
President's Faculty R & D Grant 
Committees, Councils
  and Boards
Faculty Policy Manual
NSU Scholarly Journals
Professional Journals
Prof. Memberships
Academic Policies & Procedures
Provost's Research and Scholarship Award
President's Faculty
 R & D Grant
PFRDG Application Review Process by NSU Librarians
Office of Academic Quality, Assessment, and Accreditation
Contact Us

Print this page  


With a focus on learning, we employ a range of strategies to support innovation, collaboration across centers, and university-wide discussion and decision-making


Fourteenth Annual Grant Winners 2013-2014


Revealing the secret of photosynthetic proteins by making synthetic model systems


Don Rosenblum, Ph.D. (FAR)

Faculty and Students

Reza Razeghifard Ph.D. (FAR)
Dimitrios Giarikos, Ph.D. (FAR)
Mega Margupuram (FAR)


Razeghifard, Giarikos, MargupuramPlants have learned to capture solar energy and utilize it to make chemical energy through finely orchestrated electron-transfer events. Photosystems are responsible for generating the electron flow using their special photooxidizable chlorophylls. These chlorophylls are unique because of their interactions with each other and amino acids in the local protein environment. The purpose of this grant is to create a series of synthetic peptides complexed with chlorin dimers as model systems for natural photosystems. The goal is to use these proposed model systems to reveal how the photosystem proteins provide the special chlorophyll molecules their photooxidation ability. The synthesis of these photoactive peptides paves the way for the construction of more elaborate artificial photosynthetic systems.