Alumni Awards

2013 Distinguished Alumni Achievement Awards

"The true measure of a university's greatness can be
found in the achievements of its alumni."

The NSU Distinguished Alumni Achievement Awards will take place on Thursday, November 14, 2013 at Grande Oaks Golf Club.

Tickets will be available for purchase in the coming months at

If you should have any questions, please call the NSU Alumni Association at (954) 262-2118 or e-mail

2013 Celebration of Excellence

The Annual Celebration of Excellence (COE) is Nova Southeastern University's annual signature event hosted by the University President.

It provides the President with an opportunity to showcase the University, share NSU achievements with the community, and discuss the future vision of the university.

The Celebration of Excellence also provides the university with an opportunity to present the President's Excellence in Community Service Awards, which recognizes superior professional engagement activities in the community. The awards encourage the ongoing pursuit of community service and exemplify Nova Southeastern University's "community" core value. Through these awards, NSU proclaims its pride in the accomplishments and personal dedication of its constituents (alumni, community leaders, faculty, staff and students) in the community. These awards are conferred upon individuals (one in each category) who demonstrate significant contributions to the community while exemplifying all eight of NSU's core values.

President's Excellence in Community Service Awards

Alumni Award
Community Leader Award
Faculty Award
Staff Award
Student Award

2013 NSU President's Awards for Excellence in Community Service Winners

Alumni Award
H. Wayne Huizenga School of Business and Entrepreneurship

Community Leader Award
Guy Harvey Ocean Foundation

Faculty Award
College of Osteopathic Medicine

Staff Award
Mailman Segal Center for Human Development

Student Award
H. Wayne Huizenga School of Business and Entrepreneurship

Distinguished Alumni Award Winners

NSU also presented Distinguished Alumni Awards to graduates of the university's schools, colleges and centers. Honorees are:

school award winner class year
Center for Psychological Studies Ben Toll, Ph.D 2002
College of Dental Medicine Michael Roseff, D.M.D.  2004
College of Health Care Sciences Teresa Murphy-Price, M.M.S. 1999
College of Optometry Briana Shelton, O.D. 2001
College of Osteopathic Medicine Ronald Renuart, D.O. 1990
College of Pharmacy Venessa Price, Pharm.D. 1998
Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences Chad Bobik, B.S. 1999
Fischler School of Education and Human Services Cathy Areu, M.S. 1995
Graduate School of Computer and Information Sciences Daniel Hatton, Ph.D. 1991
Graduate School of Humanities and Social Sciences Cherise James, M.S. 2009
H. Wayne Huizenga School of Business and Entrepreneurship Audrey Marks,  M.B.A. 1991
Institute for the Study of Human Service, Health and Justice Dennis Plaska, M.S. 2011
Mailman Segal Center for Human Development Casey Stewart  
Museum of Art | Fort Lauderdale AutoNation Academy of Art & Design Kristopher Keimel  
Oceanographic Center Clay Beauregard, M.S. 1997
Shepard Broad Law Center Yale Galanter, J.D. 1982
University School Keith Poliakoff 1993